Domestic Violence / Stalking Unit

Anne Murray, Director
375 South High St
17th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-645-6232

This Unit facilitates prosecution and provides education, support, counseling, crisis intervention and overall assistance to victims of domestic violence and stalking.

Safety Alert : Computer use can be monitored and it is very difficult to completely clear all website footprints.  If you are in danger, please use a safe computer that your abuser cannot access directly or remotely.

Although all prosecutors in the City Attorney’s Office handle domestic violence cases, the Domestic Violence Unit has four specially trained prosecutors that are assigned to handle only domestic violence cases.  These specialized prosecutors handle cases that include, but are not limited to, repeat assaults, egregious acts of violence, and victims that are high risk (including the elderly, children, and the disabled).  For more information on what to expect, please click here.

Additionally, the Unit has several courtroom advocates who work in tandem with various community liaisons to provide a variety of services to domestic violence victims.  In cooperation with community organizations like CHOICES for Victims of Domestic Violence, Southeast Mental Health Service, Legal Aid, and Franklin County Children’s Services, the City Attorney’s Office provides a centralized resource and support system within the Unit.

The City Attorney's Office supports a Stalking Unit within the Domestic Violence Unit, created in 1988, to investigate menacing by stalking complaints, assist in evidence collection, and support stalking victims.  Additionally, the Stalking Unit can assist victims in obtaining anti-stalking Civil Protection Orders.

Stalking occurs when a person engages in a pattern of conduct that knowingly causes the victim to believe the offender will cause physical harm or mental distress to them.  Menacing by stalking is a crime under Ohio Revised Code Section 2903.211 and can disrupt a victim’s lifestyle and cause serious mental distress.  This crime is a first degree misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of six months in jail and/or $1,000 fine.  A fifth degree felony may be filed if there is a previous stalking conviction.

Contact a representative in this Unit

Domestic Violence

Anne Murray, Domestic Violence Director645-0314ammurray@columbus.gov
Jeffrey Bennington, Sr. Domestic Violence Prosecutor645-0806jrbennington@columbus.gov
Allison Lippman, Domestic Violence Prosecutor645-8088ajlippman@columbus.gov
Jeffery Stavroff, Domestic Violence Prosecutor645-8123jtstavroff@columbus.gov
Michael Wander, Sr. Domestic Violence Prosecutor645-0317mhwander@columbus.gov
Barbara Estes, Data Entry Clerk645-1599bjestes@columbus.gov
Vanessa Perkins, DV Legal Assistant645-1945vlperkins@columbus.gov
Judith Spitler, Legal Administrative Assistant645-6232jlspitler@columbus.gov

Domestic Violence Advocates

Kimberly Kidd, Chief Advocate645-3829kakidd@columbus.gov
Amber Howell, Lead Advocate645-2543adhowell@columbus.gov
Meghan Ninneman, Lead Advocate645-3060mjninneman@columbus.gov
Stephanie Barragan, CHOICES Liaison645-0404smbarragan@columbus.gov
Mary Culver, Victim Advocate645-0320meculver@columbus.gov
Sarah Dotters, Victim Advocate645-0403sldotters@columbus.gov
Michelle Grizzle, Victim Advocate645-8970magrizzle@columbus.gov
Heidi Hansard, CHOICES Liaison645-2542hrhansard@columbus.gov
Ayan Hassan, Somali Outreach Advocate645-0319ashassan@columbus.gov
Jessica Hatem, Victim Advocate645-0830jmhatem@columbus.gov
Katrina Ingle, Victim Advocate645-1597klingle@columbus.gov
Sarah Jackson, Victim Advocate645-1598skjackson@columbus.gov
Kristina Lawler, Victim Advocate645-2541kalawler@columbus.gov
Marcia Paulino, Victim Advocate645-0310mmpaulino@columbus.gov
Julia Pavlic, Arraignment Court Advocate645-2540japavlic@columbus.gov
Ginnie Rhodebeck, Victim Advocate645-7224glrhodebeck@columbus.gov
Nicole Simcox, F.C.C.S. Liaison645-8892nysimcox@columbus.gov
Shannon White, Victim Advocate645-0313skwhite@columbus.gov

Stalking Advocates

David Fox, Cyber Crime645-3144dmfox@columbus.gov
Gilbert Leffler, Secure Investigative Solutions645-6232gwleffler@columbus.gov

If this is an emergency, contact your local police department or call 9-1-1.

You can also reach the CHOICES crisis hotline 24 hours a day at 224-4663

We also offer an online version of a booklet which explains more about what we do.

Online DV Booklet.pdf
About Protection Orders
"We're here to help" - a documentary about providing help and hope for victims of domestic violence